Senator Aaron D. Ford Joins DLCC 2015 Board of Directors

Nevada Democratic Senate Leader joins board that will continue efforts to grow number of Democratic chambers and cut into Republican majorities

WASHINGTON, D.C. (December 11, 2014) – At their annual winter meeting today, the Democratic Legislative Campaign Committee (DLCC) Board of Directors elected seven new Board Members and its national Executive Board officers for 2015.  Drawn from legislative leaders in every region of the country, the DLCC's Board of Directors is the national governing body of the organization. Its leaders are deeply involved in legislative campaigns in their states and drive Democrats' nationwide strategy to win elections in state legislatures.

Iowa State Senate Majority Leader Mike Gronstal will continue his service as Chairman. Nevada Senate Democratic Leader Aaron D. Ford is one of the seven new members of the DLCC Board of Directors.

“I am honored to work with these amazing leaders as Democrats fight back against extreme Republican agendas in state legislatures across the country," said DLCC Executive Director Michael Sargeant. "The diversity of the DLCC board is truly representative of what makes America great. Our members are drawn from every corner of America and come from all walks of life.  They bring a wealth of insight that will bolster Democratic efforts in future cycles.”

“It is an honor to join this exceptional DLCC leadership team. I look forward to working with all of them to win Democratic gains in 2016 and beyond,” said Senator Aaron D. Ford. “Nevada will remain a top priority for the DLCC, and I plan on representing the Silver State well on the national stage.”

Guided by its mission to produce winning Democratic majorities in state legislatures, the Democratic Legislative Campaign Committee (DLCC) builds and maintains the progressive infrastructure that enables Democrats to protect and pick up legislative chambers and seats across the country.  Since 1994, the DLCC has followed a 50-state strategy that allows Democrats to go on the offense in state capitols.

The full DLCC Board of Directors for 2015 will consist of: 

House Democratic Leader Stacey Abrams, Georgia - 
Senate Democratic Leader James Ananich, Michigan* - Senate Majority Leader Tom Bakk, Minnesota (Finance Chair) - Speaker of the House Michael E. Busch, Maryland* - 
Speaker of the House Frank Chopp, Washington (Vice Chair) - Representative Garnet Coleman, Texas
 - Senate President Kevin de León, California* - 
Senate Democratic Leader Aaron D. Ford, Nevada* - 
Senate Majority Leader Mike Gronstal, Iowa (Chair) - 
House Democratic Leader Larry Hall, North Carolina* - 
Representative Barry Hobbins, Maine
 - Senator Wally Horn, Iowa - 
Speaker of the House Dickey Lee Hullinghorst, Colorado*
 - Senator Christine Kaufmann, Montana - 
Speaker of the House Tina Kotek, Oregon (Treasurer) - 
House Majority Leader Val Longhurst, Delaware
 - House Deputy Majority Leader Lou Lang, Illinois* - Senator Mark Miller, Wisconsin - 
Senate Democratic Leader Dick Saslaw, Virginia
 - Speaker of the House Shap Smith, Vermont - 
Senator Mimi Stewart, New Mexico - 
House Democratic Leader Paul Thissen, Minnesota (Secretary)

*denotes New Member

Here are a few ways you can help make a difference.